Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: PreviousFirst...1011121314151617181920...LastNext
Current Page: 15 of 28
Re: St Louis sound, drums
Posted by: Bastion ()
Date: September 27, 2021 08:46

Agree

Posted by: TheBadRabbit ()
Date: September 27, 2021 08:53

I won't comment on the sound from a cellphone Facebook feed. I thought it was interesting that Steve had the front head of his kick set up like Charlie: hole dead center. As a drummer, I will say this is an unusual set-up these days. Drummers who port their front head typically put the hole off to the side to preserve some resonance from the head. The dead-center hole was popular in the 70s & 80s. I also noticed that Steve came up off the high-hat on 2 & 4, just like Charlie. Seems to me that they're trying to keep some of the "Watts sound" while still letting Steve do his thing. I approve.

Date: September 27, 2021 08:54

TheBadRabbit
I won't comment on the sound from a cellphone Facebook feed. I thought it was interesting that Steve had the front head of his kick set up like Charlie: hole dead center. As a drummer, I will say this is an unusual set-up these days. Drummers who port their front head typically put the hole off to the side to preserve some resonance from the head. The dead-center hole was popular in the 70s & 80s. I also noticed that Steve came up off the high-hat on 2 & 4, just like Charlie. Seems to me that they're trying to keep some of the "Watts sound" while still letting Steve do his thing. I approve.

I listened also to YouTube videos on desktop speakers and headphones.

Posted by: KRiffhard ()
Date: September 27, 2021 09:05

jumpingjackflash5
TheBadRabbit

Imo you're pretty persistent about the drum.
Please, now get over it.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2021-09-27 09:05 by KRiffhard.

Date: September 27, 2021 09:49

KRiffhard