Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
OT: Robert Johnson Stop Breaking Down Speed Down
Posted by: ProfessorWolf ()
Date: January 27, 2021 02:14

hello
i found this on youtube and thought it sounded chilling and intersting the man who posted it and others have proposed that robert johnson's recordings where speed up and have been realesed at the wrong speed while i doubt this personaly since as far as i know no one that new and heard him perform has said his recordings where speed up i do think this sounds really cool and a bit closer to what it sounds like on exile in my opinion
but i'm not a musician and am not very knowledgeable on these matters and was wondering if anyone here who is more so may have a something intersting to add to this
youtube

Re: OT: Robert Johnson Stop Breaking Down Speed Down
Posted by: jbwelda ()
Date: January 27, 2021 02:28

Maybe the speeding up was to accentuate the disco mix that people so loved back then.

jb

Date: January 27, 2021 02:31

funnysmiling smiley

Posted by: Cristiano Radtke ()
Date: January 27, 2021 03:38

Here's an interesting article about this "controversy": [www.elijahwald.com]

Date: January 27, 2021 03:53

thank you Cristiano Radtke that was very helpful

Posted by: GasLightStreet ()
Date: January 27, 2021 04:13

That slowed down is in A flat.

The normal one is in B flat.

Based on what I know, the song is in A and it "sounds" like he's playing in A (based on string chimes and open notes). Which means one of two things: it was sped up or he tuned high. Regardless, it sounds like the slowed down version is slowed down too much.

Posted by: MrEcho ()
Date: January 27, 2021 04:36

ProfessorWolf
hello