Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: PreviousFirst...3031323334353637383940...LastNext
Current Page: 35 of 68
Re: New Rolling Stones song "Living In A Ghost Town" out now
Posted by: GasLightStreet ()
Date: April 29, 2020 00:15

Hairball
GasLightStreet
Hairball
GasLightStreet
deardoctor
GasLightStreet
GasLightStreet
liddas
DandelionPowderman
liddas
I always had a bad relationship with vocals in general. It’s a sort of mental block. I have some general knowledge of music, but don’t understand singing, not even the basics. I can normally say if an instrument is out of tune, playing the wrong note or has a bad timing, but vocals are Arab to me!. If I had to sing lead to save my life, I would be dead!

All this to say, can one be so kind to explain where the auto tune part starts, and how do you recognize it?

Thank you!

C

Start with the bridge, particularly toward the end. Then check out when Mick sings the word "lose" on a different place in the song.

I’m embarrassed for my dumbness, but what should I hear?

C

1:48... 'So much time to lose', 'creep in my bed', sounds like he's singing in a bubble.

CORRECTION: it's not autotune.

It's a vocoder.

I wondered, because I never heard an autotune here.
The vocoder is a very different thing

I knew better, yet could only think of autotune. Indeed, completely different. So all the autotune whiners can shut up now.

Either way, they're both gimmicks that artificially alter vocals.

So is a phase pedal, wah-wah pedal, reverb... it's different. Apparently you don't like different. Or new. Whatever it is, you ain't getting it.

Is it too trendy? Behind the trend? They're really good at being behind trends. The vocoder has been around for a long time. Longer than the Stones.

It's texture. It works great in this tune.