Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
OT: David Bowie & NYC 9/11
Posted by: spikenyc ()
Date: November 22, 2019 21:59

An old friend who is a FDNY fireman just posted this story about 9/11 and his relationship with David Bowie. Very cool and touching story.

Growing up on Staten Island, I was fairly sure I’d become the next Lawrence Taylor or Carl Banks. If my football career didn’t pan out, I had basketball. I was sure I’d be the next great white hope. A new version of Larry Bird or Chris Mullin. If option two didn’t pan out, I had baseball as my backup plan. Don Mattingly was my hero and I was surely destined to be just as good as him. When reality set in, I graduated from Monsignor Farrell and matriculated at SUNY Plattsburgh where I was the star of my fraternity touch football team.

My father was fireman, and I wanted badly to follow in his footsteps. I passed the test after graduation and tended bar and worked as a personal trainer for a period of time. When my number was called, I couldn’t have been more thrilled. I showed up for work n a sweltering July day at the house day one in TriBeca and was told by the veterans to head to the kitchen and start washing dishes. So I did as I was told.

I get to the kitchen, and a blonde guy in a white tank top and a red bandanna is cooking and listening to Bob Dylan’s “Blood on the Tracks” very loudly. He is tall and very skinny. He has a tall glass of white wine in pint glass with ice cubes. I saw the bottle of wine. It still had a price tag on it. 175 bucks for whatever wine this guy was drinking. He turns around, sees me, and turns down the music.