Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: Previous1234
Current Page: 4 of 4
Re: OT: Steely Dan's Walter Becker has died
Posted by: schillid ()
Date: November 15, 2017 21:01

Tim Mosenfelder/Getty

Two months after Walter Becker died unexpectedly on September 3rd, his cause of death remained a mystery. However, Becker's widow Delia has revealed that her husband died following an "extremely aggressive form of esophageal cancer."
"For me personally, his death was a devastating blow, as I know it was for many of you," Delia Becker wrote. "I am just beginning to emerge from its heartbreaking impact ... He just ran out of time much sooner than any of us thought possible."
In the weeks prior to Becker's death, he missed Steely Dan's Classic East and West concerts due to an unspecified ailment. "Walter's recovering from a procedure and hopefully he'll be fine very soon," Donald Fagen said at the time.
However, as Delia Becker writes, Walter was actually undergoing "an intense regimen of chemotherapy" at the time to combat the cancer, which "seemed to have come out of nowhere and had spread with terrifying speed."
Just four months after his diagnosis, Becker died at his New York City home "surrounded by his family, his music, and a blustery rainstorm — one of his favorite sounds — blowing outside the window."

Read Delia Becker's full letter below

As Walter Becker’s wife of many years, I wanted to share with his fans some information regarding his death that has not previously been reported. I realize this is overdue, and I hope you will understand why. For me personally, his death was a devastating blow, as I know it was for many of you. I am just beginning to emerge from its heartbreaking impact.