Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
OT: Influence of Jerry Garcia side projects on The Dead
Posted by: LongBeachArena72 ()
Date: August 11, 2017 16:01

I spent a LOT of time during this year's Days Between (Aug 1st-9th, the days between Jerry Garcia's birth and his death) listening to a plethora of Jerry Garcia solo and side project material.

I'm a novice Deadhead but am doing my best to catch up ... and I am floored by the wealth of material Garcia recorded outside his "day-job."

Do any of you have opinions about any of the following?

* Since other members of The Dead had their own side-projects, I presume there was little or no resentment on their part toward Jerry's solo/extra-band endeavors?

* Is there evidence that Jerry's near-constant playing (he would frequently jump into a Jerry Garcia Band or Legion of Mary or Old and In the Way or New Riders of the Purple Sage gig whenever the Dead had downtime) either helped or hindered the quality of music played at Grateful Dead shows?

* Finally, is it true that the side-projects were outlets that allowed Garcia a low-key way to express himself musically in a much freer way, as opposed to The Dead shows, which as they became huger and huger may have begun to feel almost like an albatross around his neck?

Clearly, Garcia was a guy haunted by many demons. But he was also so full of music that he just couldn't seem to not play whenever he could. For any of you who might be new to some of his side-projects, my current favorite are the Legion of Mary shows in 1974-75 with Merl Saunders as his chief collaborator. Amazing jazz-inflected grooves. Here's a show from Madison, WI in 1975; starts off with a loose-goosey "Let It Rock" and just gets groovier:

[www.youtube.com]

Re: OT: Influence of Jerry Garcia side projects on The Dead