Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 123Next
Current Page: 1 of 3
The Rolling Stones and soul music
Posted by: syrel ()
Date: May 25, 2017 16:28

Hi everyone,

I use a pseudonym on IORR to keep my offline identity separate from my online one, but in real life I'm actually a university professor who writes about music. Right now I'm trying to write something about the Stones' relationship to soul music. Obviously, I've got some things I'm already thinking of, but there are people on these boards with a lot more knowledge than me, so I thought I'd ask for your help.

If anyone has suggestions for connections between the band and soul - either biographical or musical, or anything else - then please post something in this thread. I'm really interested to hear the things that people come up with.

Many thanks

syrel

Re: The Rolling Stones and soul music
Posted by: tomcasagranda ()
Date: May 25, 2017 19:00

Soul music, well let's go through their relationship with it.

On their first album, England's Newest Hitmakers, is the cover of Can I Get A Witness, an early Marvin Gaye classic. In 1965, on Out of Our Heads, there's another Gaye cover, Hitchhike, which is again Motown. Like the Beatles with Smokey Robinson's You Really Got A Hold On Me, and their cover of the Marvelettes Please Mr Postman, the early beat groups admired Motown.

The Stones were also familiar with Southern Soul, again like the Beatles covering Arthur Alexander's Anna (Go To Him), and A Shot of Rhythm & Blues, the Stones covered You Better Move On, also by Arthur Alexander, Down Home Girl by Alvin Robinson, and Mercy Mercy by Don Covay. They were also familiar with That's How Strong My Love Is, albeit not the OV Wright version on Peacock, but the rewrite as performed by Otis Redding, which also surfaced on Out of Our Heads.