Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: Previous12345678Next
Current Page: 4 of 8
Re: Track Talk: You Got Me Rocking (New)
Posted by: matxil ()
Date: August 5, 2016 12:09

HMS
So what´s wrong with that:

I was a butcher cutting up meat
My hands were bloody, I'm dying on my feet
I was a surgeon till I started to shake
I was falling but you put on the break

I was a pitcher down in a slump
I was a fighter taken for a sucker punch
I'm feeling bad, guess I lost my spring
I was the boxer who can't get in the ring

I was a hooker losing her looks
I was a writer, can't write another book
I was all dried up, dying to get wet
I was a tycoon drowning in debt

confused smileyconfused smileyconfused smiley

Very fine lyrics.

Maybe you should define what the term "great lyrics" mean to you. For most people, "great lyrics" mean lyrics about something (emotion, situation, idea) that we all can relate to, but with a wording that gives a twist, or some new light, or with a particular clever way of putting it. Shakespeare made great lyrics, but so did Chuck Berry (e.g. "looking like a model on a cover of magazine" - simple, clear, but also fresh and never quite put like that), and Mick Jagger (e.g. "but he can't be a man, cuz he doesn't smoke the same cigarettes as me" ).
In YGMR, the lyrics - at best - is a tongue-in-cheek parody of saying nothing at all on purpose (a bit like "Only Rock N Roll" ).
If you think YGMR are great lyrics, you, me and the rest of the forum could continue adding more stuff to it without a second's thought, and it would be even "greater lyrics":
I was a plumber, fixing the drains
I was a driver, driving on the exit lane
I was a baker, but my bread has gone stale
I was a carpenter, not hitting the nail ...
etc....