Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Richards upstages Jagger
Posted by: SpanishTony ()
Date: August 24, 2005 09:00

I am posting two of the same threads because I couldn’t decide what title to use.

First off, to the great fans out there, the Stones have never sounded so good. I will state up front that the setlist these two nights was really weak, but I will let another thread address that topic. How they played Sunday and Tuesday was fantastic. That from a man who has no use for You Got Me Rocking, Out of Control, Miss You, and Its Only Rock n Roll. Even these overplayed songs sounded good in Boston. I may even choose to play them on CD some day in remembrance.

I am not a musician but I think I can safely state that the band is playing tighter than I have ever seen. My only hope is that the band continues the energy they had in Boston across the US and into Europe. If they do, everyone is in for a real treat, despite the suspect setlist. I sat down low on Sunday near the infield on the third base side and last night I sat in the roof section directly in front of the stage. Although the roof was further away, it was much better as I was directly in front of the stage. Here are my random thoughts:

1. This band values their reputation and is made up of true professionals. There will be no throwaway shows this tour as long as Charlie Watts, Daryl Jones, and Mick Jagger are involved. Jagger’s vocals are better than I have ever heard and the backbeat/rhythm is hard and consistent.