Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

OT: Deep Purple this morning on NBC's The Today Show
Posted by: Mongoose ()
Date: July 23, 2015 22:07

As a drummer myself, I always thought that Ian Paice was one of rock's most overlooked players. You rarely hear him mentioned among the great rock drummers, and he should be in the top 5.

I have to give these guys credit, because at least they still have three original members performing.

Blood, Sweat, and Tears are out there touring without ONE original member. Many other bands JUST have one original player. Not sure how you can bill yourself as the the band in those cases.

In any event, here they were this morning. Wish they had at least given them two songs to play instead of just the obligatory "Smoke on the Water," but Steve Morse, as usual, smokes on guitar.

[www.today.com]

Re: OT: Deep Purple this morning on NBC's The Today Show
Posted by: Koen ()
Date: July 23, 2015 23:00

I love Ian Paice. Just like Charlie he plays very loose and brings a jazz feel to the band.

Posted by: DGA35 ()
Date: July 23, 2015 23:57

Hey Mongoose, actually Purple only has one original member since Ian Gillan and Roger Glover replaced original vocalist Rod Evans and bassist Nicky Simper. They were part of the Mk1 version of Purple who's 2 main hits were Hush and Kentucky Woman.
I've always been a fan of Ian Paice's drumming. He even plays with Paul McCartney and David Gilmour in the concert where they did all the old r'n'r songs. It's on Youtube.

Posted by: Mongoose ()
Date: July 24, 2015 00:17

DGA35
Hey Mongoose, actually Purple only has one original member since Ian Gillan and Roger Glover replaced original vocalist Rod Evans and bassist Nicky Simper. They were part of the Mk1 version of Purple who's 2 main hits were Hush and Kentucky Woman.