Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

OT: Anyone know anything about basses? Help needed
Posted by: Rollin92 ()
Date: March 3, 2014 16:31

Not a perfect example of a Framus Star Bass, this has had a refurbishment which still needs continuing but I can't really pay the ridiculous prices some places ask for the Star Bass.

I've been playing for a few years but know next to nothing about the set up/ tech sides of basses, Does this seem a good deal or would does it look like something to steer clear of?

[www.ebay.de]

Re: OT: Anyone know anything about basses? Help needed
Posted by: liddas ()
Date: March 3, 2014 18:07

If the bass is in good shape, the neck is straight, and you like it, for that money I would take it. Change strings, electronics and PU and you should have a more than decent instrument for 350 euro. If the PU is good you can reuse it or sell it once you upgrade your bass.

I have a shitty Yamaha bass that I keep only because it was signed by Darryl Jones. As a matter of fact, equipped with SD's antiquity p-bass pick up, new electronics and played through a beautiful B15, it sounds good enough to me.

C

Re: OT: Anyone know anything about basses? Help needed
Posted by: Rollin92 ()
Date: March 3, 2014 18:20

liddas
If the bass is in good shape, the neck is straight, and you like it, for that money I would take it. Change strings, electronics and PU and you should have a more than decent instrument for 350 euro. If the PU is good you can reuse it or sell it once you upgrade your bass.

I have a shitty Yamaha bass that I keep only because it was signed by Darryl Jones. As a matter of fact, equipped with SD's antiquity p-bass pick up, new electronics and played through a beautiful B15, it sounds good enough to me.

C