Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Johnnie Johnson dead.
Posted by: mickijaggeroo ()
Date: April 13, 2005 20:34

Johnnie passed away today (4-13-05) in his sleep at 7:30am

Rock & Roll Hall of Famer Johnnie Johnson died Wednesday morning. Johnson is best known for his longtime collaboration with Chuck Berry. He was 80 years old.

In the 1950s, Johnson was a local bandleader who hired Chuck Berry to fill in when another band member was ill on New Year's Eve. That was the beginning of a decades-long partnership that landed both men in the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.

Legend has it that Berry's rock and roll classic Johnny B. Goode was named after Johnnie Johnson.

During his career, the self-taught piano player performed with a who's who of rock and blues musicians, including Keith Richards, Eric Clapton, John Lee Hooker and Bo Diddley.

Vilhelm
Nordic Stones Vikings

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2005-04-13 20:36 by mickijaggeroo.

Re: Johnnie Johnson dead.
Posted by: erikjjf ()
Date: April 13, 2005 20:37

Very sad.
RIP Johnnie.

Posted by: T&A ()
Date: April 13, 2005 20:43

very sad, indeed. johnnie was the original johnny b. goode, having authored the famous riffs that CB copped. he was a true original. i'm sure KR is quite saddened by the passing of his good friend.

Posted by: DGA35 ()
Date: April 13, 2005 20:46

Ironically, I was just watching Hail Hail Rock'n'Roll last night and watching how Johnnie played with such ease. I love the things Keith mentions about him in regards to how alot of the Chuck Berry riffs were originally Johnnie's piano riffs which Chuck adapted to guitar.

RIP Johnnie.

Posted by: Berlin ()
Date: April 13, 2005 21:13

Get the JJ CD Johnnie B.Bad from 1991 with the Wino`s participation and Keith on vocals on Key to the Highway. Great stuff, great sound! (+ B.Fowler, E.Clapton, Bernie Worrell)