Tell Me :  Talk
Talk about your favorite band. 

Previous page Next page First page IORR home

For information about how to use this forum please check out forum help and policies.

Goto Page: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Production (Mastering?) Kills A Bigger Bang
Posted by: Sipuncula ()
Date: March 5, 2011 08:03

I know this is about six years too late, but I'm on a vinyl kick and I just got ABB and gave it another chance (yes, I know it's digital sourced and should sound similar). It would be a pretty good record with a few clunkers cut out, but above all, here is a prime example of something that was killed by its production (mastering?--I'm no sonic engineer). This one might be the poster child of how to ruin a record by compression. It's tedious and loud. I hate the '80s slick production of Steel Wheels, but this 2000s "loudness" trend might actually be worse to my ears. Voodoo Lounge is warm and dynamic, and a joy to listen to by comparison. I might like ABB just as well if it didn't make me want to f*cking pull the power cord because of the overall sound.

Any sound experts care to comment? Maybe ABB deserves a remaster.

Re: Production (Mastering?) Kills A Bigger Bang
Posted by: treaclefingers ()
Date: March 5, 2011 08:06

Sipuncula